ПОЛНАЯ ИНСТРУКЦИЯ ПО УСПЕШНОМУ ПОЛУЧЕНИЮ НЕМЕЦКОЙ МЕДИЦИНСКОЙ ЛИЦЕНЗИИ [2022]

a green and silver Stethoscope on a white piece of document

АВТОР ИТАЙ ШАХАР

Доктор Шахар - врач-резидент в Германии и соучредитель Doctoringermany.com (DiG), цель которого - помочь иностранным врачам успешно развить медицинскую карьеру в Германии наиболее правильным способом.

Ноябрь 22, 2021

ВСТУПЛЕНИЕ

Ты врач, работающий за пределами Германии и заинтересованный в получении немецкой медицинской лицензии? Хочешь переехать и начать карьеру в Германии? Возможно, ты устал от рутинной жизни в твоей стране и тебе нужны новые приключения, или может быть твоя родная страна не соответствует твоим требованиям к росту, или тебя интересует политика Германии и уровень жизни.

Какой бы не была твоя причина, ты в правильном месте. Эта инструкция, несомненно, подскажет тебе шаги к получению немецкой медицинской лицензии, так называемой «Approbation», и предоставит необходимую информацию о переезде в Германию и ведения здесь медицинской практики. Итак, давай приступим!

В ЭТОЙ СТАТЬЕ ТЫ УЗНАЕШЬ СЛЕДУЮЩУЮ ИНФОРМАЦИЮ:
  • Почему тебе следует выбрать Германию в качестве страны для жизни и занятия медициной.
  • Что такое немецкая медицинская лицензия.
  • Каковы требования для получения немецкой медицинской лицензии.
  • Как проходит процесс подачи заявления на получение немецкой медицинской лицензии.
  • Другая важная информация о лицензии.

ПОЧЕМУ ПЕРЕЕЗД В ГЕРМАНИЮ ИМЕЕТ СМЫСЛ

a few cars driving on a highway in Germany with plenty of green nature around
  • Facebook

Если ты еще не до конца определился с переездом в Германию, позволь нам помочь тебе. Вот несколько причин, по которым тебе действительно стоит задуматься о переезде.

ВЫСОКИЕ ЗАРПЛАТЫ ВРАЧЕЙ
A black and silver stethoscope laying on a stash of Euro bills that reflect the amount of money doctors in Germany can earn
  • Facebook

В Германии начальная зарплата медицинского работника высока по сравнению с остальным миром. Врачи в Германии получают очень хорошую зарплату на протяжении всей своей карьеры, начиная от ассистентов и заканчивая специалистами. В среднем врачи-ассистенты (Assistenzärzte) в Германии зарабатывают около 65 000 евро в год, а специалисты (Fachärzte) — около 80 000 евро в год.

ВЫСОКИЙ СПРОС НА ВРАЧЕЙ

Германия остро нуждается в медицинском персонале. По оценкам, в ближайшие годы этот спрос будет постоянно расти. В первую очередь это связано с тем, что многие врачи в больницах уходят на пенсию. Также наблюдается резкий рост спроса на врачей терапевтов, а также семейных врачей. Германия в настоящее время сталкивается с нехваткой врачей в своих больницах и клиниках, и таким образом она становится привлекательной страной для карьеры в медицине.

ВЫСОКИЙ УРОВЕНЬ ЖИЗНИ
A busy street in Germany where a doctor in Germany can enjoy his leisure time by shopping and enjoying a cup of coffee
  • Facebook

Уровень жизни в Германии считается одним из самых высоких в мире. Страна является лидером в области здравоохранения и образования. Германия – высокоразвитая страна. Высшее образование в немецких государственных университетах спонсируется государством и является бесплатным как для немецких, так и для иностранных студентов. В стране также хорошо развита инфраструктура с хорошо налаженным общественным транспортом.

Уровень преступности в Германии относительно низок, и страна считается безопасным местом для жизни. Германия также полна огромным количеством великолепных природных ландшафтов и является раем для любителей природы. Кроме того, в Германии также относительно низкая стоимость жизни по сравнению с остальной Европой. Из всего вышеперечисленного следует, что переезд в Германию — это не только отличный шаг по карьерной лестнице, но и мудрый жизненный выбор. Не говоря уже о том, что страна может похвастаться изумительным пивом ;).

ЧТО МНЕ НУЖНО, ЧТОБЫ РАБОТАТЬ ВРАЧОМ В ГЕРМАНИИ?

Чтобы заниматься медициной в любой стране, тебе необходимо иметь медицинскую лицензию в этой конкретной стране. И Германия – не исключение. В Германии для работы врачом требуется Approbation. Это немецкий термин означающий медицинская лицензия. Наряду с Approbation существует также так называемое Berufserlaubnis или временное разрешение на работу. В этой статье мы написали короткие и простые в использовании инструкции для получения как Approbation (немецкой медицинской лицензии), так и Berufserlaubnis.

BERUFSERLAUBNIS (ВРЕМЕННОЕ РАЗРЕШЕНИЕ НА РАБОТУ)

Врачи и другие медицинские работники из стран, не входящих в ЕС, которые хотят работать в Германии на временной основе в ожидании получения постоянной медицинской лицензии, могут подать заявление на получение временного разрешения на работу (Berufserlaubnis). Berufserlaubnis действует до двух лет. Уточним, Berufserlaubnis не позволяет его владельцу открывать частную медицинскую практику.

Обычно кандидат просто работает под наблюдением врача, имеющего действующую Approbation. Следует отметить, что Berufserlaubnis действителен только в регионе, в котором он был выдан, а не по всей стране. Поэтому убедись, что регион, в котором ты планируешь жить соответствует тому образу жизни, что ты хочешь вести.

СТАНДАРТНАЯ ПРОЦЕДУРА И ДОКУМЕНТЫ, НЕОБХОДИМЫЕ ДЛЯ BERUFSERLAUBNIS

До приезда в Германию, на всякий случай тебе необходимо подготовить заранее следующие документы. Начнем с того, что в каждом регионе Германии есть свои требования и формы заявлений для Berufserlaubnis, а также для Approbation. Ты можешь загрузить необходимую форму, соответствующую определенному региону с веб-сайта органа.

Во-первых, необходимо заполнить общие сведения о себе и своем образовании. Тебе также нужно скачать декларацию с соответствующего веб-сайта. Во-вторых, ты должен подготовить резюме в соответствии с немецкими стандартами и нормами. Следует иметь в виду, что в большинстве случаев тебе придется предоставлять заверенные копии как на языке оригинала, так и в заверенном переводе на немецкий язык.

Также должны быть предоставлены заверенные и оригинальные копии паспорта и визы. На ряду со всеми выше перечисленными документами тебе в том числе нужно предоставить справку о состоянии здоровья, которую можно взять у семейного врача («Hausarzt» на немецком языке) по цене около 30-50 евро.

Медицинская справка действительна в течение определенного периода времени. У тебя есть возможность предоставить либо оригинал, либо подтверждённую копию («beglaubigte Kopie») сертификата.

Затем тебе необходимо предоставить справку о несудимости из родной страны. У тебя есть возможность получить её в посольстве, паспортном отделении или консульстве твоей страны. Срок действия справки о несудимости составляет три месяца. Тебе потребуется подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия этого документа. Наряду с этим тебе также нужно подать заявление на получение местного сертификата поведения («Führungszeugnis») в Bürgeramt (городское управление). Этот сертификат действителен в течение ограниченного периода времени и стоит около 13 евро. Ты получишь его с доставкой по адресу, который был указан в заявлении.

Языковые требования различаются в зависимости от региона, и необходимо предоставить подтверждённые копии оригиналов сертификатов немецкого языка в соответствии с требованиями того или иного региона.

Некоторые дополнительные важные документы, которые могут быть затребованы на протяжении всего процесса:

  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства о браке (если уместно).
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства о рождении.
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства об изменении имени (если уместно).
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоих медицинских документов об образовании.
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия Сертификата о хорошем состоянии (Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung) от любого государственного/национального медицинского совета, в котором ты учился/работал. Этот документ действителен в течение ограниченного периода времени.
  • Тебе также понадобится Zusage или письмо с предложением о работе.
  • Письмо-подтверждение городской регистрации («Anmeldung»)
  • Копии заявлений о приеме на работу в другие больницы и их ответы.

НЕМЕЦКАЯ МЕДИЦИНСКАЯ ЛИЦЕНЗИЯ (APPROBATION)

Медицинская лицензия в Германии называется Approbation. Все врачи, независимо от их специализации и уровня знаний, обязаны иметь эту лицензию, чтобы заниматься медицинской практикой в Германии. Approbation дает владельцу разрешение на неограниченную медицинскую практику. Короче говоря, чтобы получить Approbation, степень/квалификация врача должны быть признаны соответствующими органами эквивалентными немецкому диплому. Approbation действует на территории всей страны. Она также действительна в течение всей жизни.

ОБЯЗАТЕЛЬНЫЕ ШАГИ И ДОКУМЕНТЫ, НЕОБХОДИМЫЕ ДЛЯ ПОЛУЧЕНИЯ APPROBATION

Чтобы упростить задачу, нужно сказать, что есть четыре основных требования для получения рабочего места в Германии как для европейских, так и неевропейских врачей:

I. Сертификация немецкого языка на уровне B2/C1 с использованием CEF

(общеевропейская шкала – Стандарт измерения языковых навыков в Европе)

Общий тест по немецкому языку B2 – тест TELC/Goethe

II. Немецкая медицинская терминология и навыки клинического общения

Необходимо сдать: Fachsprachprüfung — немецкий термин, обозначающий профессиональный экзамен по немецкому медицинскому языку.

III. Заявление на получение лицензии на медицинскую практику в Министерство здравоохранения/Немецкий государственный медицинский совет (Ärztekammer).

IV. Чистая история без судимостей на родине.

Пройти процесс получения немецкой лицензии обязан каждый врач не зависимо от того откуда он родом. Есть вероятность того, что дипломы кандидатов из стран, не входящих в ЕС не будут признаны. В этом случае отчаиваться не стоит, достаточно сдать дополнительный экзамен, чтобы доказать, что ты обладаешь необходимыми медицинскими навыками для работы в Германии врачом.

Это экзамен по медицинским знаниям («Kenntnisprüfung»), существует для проверки твоих знаний и навыков в области медицины, а так же для того что бы убедиться что твое медицинское образование и текущие медицинские знания эквивалентны немецким знаниям местных университетов. Положительным моментом является то, что у вас тебя есть возможность пересдать этот экзамен, если это необходимо.

Некоторые дополнительные важные документы, которые могут быть запрошены на протяжении всего процесса:

  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства о рождении.
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства о браке (если уместно).
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоего свидетельства об изменении имени (если уместно).
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия твоих медицинских документов об образовании.
  • Заверенная/подтверждённая копия оригинала и переведенная версия Сертификата о хорошем состоянии (Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung) от любого государственного/национального медицинского совета, в котором ты учился/работал. Этот документ действителен в течение ограниченного периода времени.
  • Тебе также понадобится Zusage или письмо с предложением о работе.
  • Письмо-подтверждение городской регистрации («Anmeldung»)
  • Копии заявлений о приеме на работу в другие больницы и их ответы.

ТВОЙ ПУТЬ К ПОЛУЧЕНИЮ APPROBATION

A ward of a german hospital with numerous doctors in Germany with lab coats
  • Facebook

Теперь давай заложим фундамент к успешному получению твоей Approbation. Эти простые шаги помогут тебе в получении немецкой медицинской лицензии!

Мы разделим этот процесс на две категории: одну для кандидатов из стран, не входящих в ЕС (кандидатов, которые завершили свое обучение за пределами Европейского Союза), и кандидатов из ЕС (кандидатов, которые завершили свое обучение в Европейском Союзе).

КАНДИДАТЫ ИЗ СТРАН, НЕ ВХОДЯЩИХ В ЕВРОПЕЙСКИЙ СОЮЗ

Начнем с формирования прочной базы в коммуникации. Как только ты закончишь медицинский институт или уже во время учебы, возьмись всерьез за изучение языка. Как только ты хорошо овладеешь языком, сдай языковой экзамен (Telc или Goethe) и получи сертификат не ниже уровня B2.

Теперь поговорим о том ,что касается переезда в Германию. Ты можешь въехать в Германию по студенческой визе или визе для поиска работы, а позже получить Голубую карту. До приезда в Германию или после (как удобнее) постарайся найти место на так называемую «Hospitation». Hospitation — это интернатура в немецких больницах. Предпочтительно проходить интернатуру в той же больнице, где хочешь работать после получения Approbation, но это не обязательно. Прохождение интернатуры даст тебе первый клинический опыт в Германии. Также у тебя будет возможность освоиться в больнице и узнать, как работает или функционирует больница.

Теперь, во время, или после окончания интернатуры, сдай медицинский экзамен по немецкому языку или так называемый Fachsprachprüfung (FSP). Этот экзамен приблизит тебя на один шаг к получению лицензии на медицинскую практику (временную или постоянную). FSP — это обязательный экзамен, который будущий врач должен сдать, чтобы доказать, что он владеет знанием немецкого языка, необходимым для осуществления соответствующей профессиональной деятельности. Есть так же вариант сдачи этого экзамена перед тем, как приступить к Hospitation.

ТВОЙ ЛИЧНЫЙ ПУТЬ К ПОЛУЧЕНИЮ APPROBATION

a team of three doctors in Germany with green scrubs who are operating on a patient using top-notch medical equipment
  • Facebook

Время от времени весть этот процесс может казаться тебе сверхсложной задачей. Однако, если ты заранее правильно подготовишься и получишь помощь в процессе, весь твой путь будет казаться более управляемым. Ниже мы предлагаем тебе пошаговый путь к получению Approbation в Германии.

  • ‌Найди место для Hospitation, получи предложение о работе и Berufserlaubnis (временное разрешение) ‌
  • Подай заявку на Approbation (немецкая медицинская лицензия).
  • ‌Подготовь необходимые документы и отправь их для подтверждения (Gutachten).
  • Ты должен быть готовым или готовой доказать свои медицинские знания и эквивалентность степени, если это будет необходимо.

‌Если твои медицинские знания будут эквивалентными знаниям, которые дают немецкие университеты, ты получишь Approbation ‌. Этот процесс займет до четырех месяцев после правильной подачи необходимых документов.

ИЛИ

Если уровень твоей квалификации не будет эквивалентным, тебе придется досдать экзамен, подтверждающий уровень твоих медицинских знаний. Это будет проверка твоих знаний и навыков, для того чтобы убедиться, что у тебя есть знания, необходимые для медицинской практики в Германии (Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung или Kenntnisprüfung).

  • ‌ После прохождения теста ты получишь долгожданную Approbation.

* Дополнительный совет: при подаче документов убедись, что все необходимые бумаги на месте, правильно составлены и соответствуют немецким правилам. Неточности с твоими документами продлят время ожидания и усложнят тебе жизнь. Официальные работники начнут работу над твоим заявлением только после того, как все документы будут готовы.

ФИНАНСОВАЯ СТОРОНА ВОПРОСА

Чтобы посмотреть на весь этот сложный процесс с другой стороны и убедиться, что он протекает без каких-либо финансовых или технических проблем, мы приготовили тебе контрольный список.

  • Начни свою интернатуру.
  • Подай заявку на Berufserlaubnis.
  • Устройся на работу на основе своего временного разрешения. Это гарантирует тебе стабильный доход, пока ты находишься в ожидании своей постоянной лицензии.
  • Параллельно подай заявку на Approbation.
  • После получения Approbation ты можешь продолжить обучение по специализации, в больнице или частной практике.

КАНДИДАТЫ ИЗ СТРАН, ВХОДЯЩИХ В ЕВРОПЕЙСКИЙ СОЮЗ

Процедура более или менее проще для выпускников из вузов Европейского Союза.

Дя тебя хорошая новость заключается в том, что ты не обязан получать Berufserlaubnis (временное разрешение). Ты можешь подать заявку на Approbation сразу после прохождения Fachsprchenprüfung.

Fachsprchenprüfung, как указывалось ранее, представляет собой экзамен, который проверяет знания медицинской терминологии на немецком языке.

После получения Approbation ты можешь начать свою врачебную практику в Германии без каких-либо ограничений.

ЗАКЛЮЧЕНИЕ

Подводя итог, Approbation — это медицинская лицензия, необходимая для медицинской практики в Германии. Berufserlaubnis — это временное профессиональное разрешение, которое можно использовать для временной медицинской практики будучи под кураторством врача у которого уже есть Approbation. Кандидат должен соответствовать определенному списку критериев, чтобы получить Approbation, который включает, помимо прочего, проверку знаний, языка, квалификации и биографических данных.

Надеемся, в этой статье ты нашел для себя ответы на твои вопросы о получении немецкой медицинской лицензии.

Необходима помощь, в получении лицензии для работы врачом в Германии? Прежде всего, подпишись на наш канал на YouTube Doctor In Germany, мы будем регулярно публиковать ценный контент, чтобы помочь будущим и действующим врачам в Германии максимально реализовать свой потенциал. Во-вторых, если ты заинтересован или заинтересована в том, чтобы мы рассмотрели твою конкретную ситуацию и нашли оптимальный путь для получения медицинской лицензии в Германии, и, конечно, ответили на все твои вопросы, ты можешь записаться на индивидуальную консультацию. Мы будем рады тебе помочь!

ТЕБЯ МОЖЕТ ТАКЖЕ ЗАИНТЕРЕСОВАТЬ...

0 Комментариев

Оставить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован.

Share This

The Complete Guide to Getting Your German Medical License SUCCESSFULLY [2022]

a green and silver Stethoscope on a white piece of document

Written by Itay Shahar

Dr. Shahar is a medical resident doctor in Germany, and Co-Founder of Doctoringermany.com (DiG), with the aim of helping foreign doctors successfully build a medical career in Germany the right way.

November 22, 2021

Introduction

Are you a doctor working outside of Germany and interested in obtaining a German medical license? Are you looking to relocate over and start a career in Germany? Perhaps you’re tired of your old country and you need a new adventure, or your home country might not meet your requirements for growth or the German policies and standard of living might interest you.

Whatever your reason may be, you’ve come to the right place. This guide will undoubtedly help you in getting your German medical license, the so-called ‘Approbation’, and will provide some essential info for moving to Germany and practicing medicine here. So let’s get into it!

In this article, you will acquire the following information:
  • Why you should choose Germany to live and practice medicine in.
  • What the German Medical License is.
  • What the requirements for getting the German Medical License are.
  • What the application process of getting the German Medical License is.
  • Other important information about the license.

Why Moving to Germany Makes Sense

a few cars driving on a highway in Germany with plenty of green nature around
  • Facebook

If you still haven’t completely made up your mind about moving to Germany, allow us to help out. Here are some reasons why you should genuinely consider making the switch.

High Salaries For Doctors
A black and silver stethoscope laying on a stash of Euro bills that reflect the amount of money doctors in Germany can earn
  • Facebook

In Germany, the starting salaries in the medical profession are high when compared to the rest of the world. Doctors in Germany enjoy very good pay and salary throughout their careers, starting from assistants to specialists. On average, assistant doctors (Assistenzärzte) in Germany earn a gross salary of around 65,000 Euros per year and specialists (Fachärzte) average about 80,000 Euros a year.

Strong Demand for Doctors

Germany is in serious need of the next generation of medical personnel. This demand is estimated to be in a constant state of growth in the coming years. This is primarily due to many resident physicians in hospitals retiring. There is also a sharp increase in demand for general practitioners as well as family doctors. Germany is currently facing a shortage of doctors in its hospitals and clinics and this makes it an attractive country for a career in medicine.

High Standard of Living
A busy street in Germany where a doctor in Germany can enjoy his leisure time by shopping and enjoying a cup of coffee
  • Facebook

The standard of living in Germany is considered to be one of the highest in the world. The country is a leader in healthcare facilities and education. Germany is a highly developed country. Higher education in German public universities is state-sponsored and free for both German and International students. The country also has well developed infrastructure with well-connected public transport.

Crime rates in Germany are relatively low and the country is regarded as a safe place to live in. Germany is also home to many gorgeous natural landscapes and is a haven for nature lovers. Additionally, Germany also has a relatively low cost of living when compared to the rest of Europe. These points show that moving to Germany is not just a great career move, but it is also a wise life choice. Not to mention the fact that the country boasts of some amazing beer ;).

What do I Need in Order to Work as a Doctor in Germany?

To practice medicine in any country, you need to have a medical license in that specific country. The same holds true in Germany. In Germany, you require an Approbation to work as a medical doctor. This is the German term for the German medical license. Along with the Approbation, there is also something called the Berufserlaubnis, or the temporary work permit. We’ve written short, easy-to-follow guides in this article for getting both the Approbation (German medical license), as well as the Berufserlaubnis.

Berufserlaubnis (Temporary Work Permit)

Doctors and other health professionals from Non-EU countries who want to work in Germany on a temporary basis while waiting to receive their permanent medical license can apply for a temporary work permit (Berufserlaubnis). The Berufserlaubnis is valid for up to two years. To clarify, the Berufserlaubnis does not allow its holder to open a private medical practice.

Usually, the candidate is confined to work under the supervision of a doctor holding a valid Approbation. A point to note is that the Berufserlaubnis is only valid in the state in which it has been issued and not across the country. So make sure you do your own research on which state has the policies and living conditions that are convenient for you.

Standard Procedure and Documents required for Berufserlaubnis

As a safe measure, prepare as many of the following documents as possible in advance before getting to Germany. For starters, each state in Germany has its own requirements and application forms for Berufserlaubnis, as well as for the Approbation. You can download the form of your particular state from the website of the authority responsible in that state.

Firstly, fill in general details about yourself and your educational qualifications. You also have to download a declaration from the respective website. Second, you have to prepare a CV according to German standards and norms. A thing to keep in mind is that you will mostly have to submit certified copies in both the language in which they were issued, as well as the legalized translation to German.

As a standard practice, you must submit certified and authentic copies of your passport and visa. You also have to submit a health certificate which can easily be taken from a family doctor (‘Hausarzt’ in German) at the cost of around 30-50 euros.

This is valid for a certain period of time and you can submit either the original or a legalized copy (‘beglaubigte Kopie’).

Moving forward, you need to submit a PCC (Police Clearance Certificate) from your country, which you can take from the Passport Authority, Embassy, or Consulate of your home country. This document is valid for three months. You need a legalized copy of the original and translated version of this document. Along with that, you must also apply for a local certificate of conduct (‘Führungszeugnis’) at the Bürgeramt (City Office). This certificate is valid for a limited period of time and costs around 13 Euros. You will get this delivered to the address you have mentioned.

There are different language level requirements per state and you must submit the certified copies of original German Language certificates as mandated by the state.

Some additional required documents that may be requested for the Berufserlaubnis:

  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of your birth certificate.
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of your marriage certificate (if applicable).
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of your name change certificate (if required).
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of medical educational certificates.
  • Certified/legalized copy of original and translated version of Certificate of Good Standing (Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung) from any state/national medical council where you have studied/worked. This is valid for 3 months.
  • Job offer letter (Zusage).
  • City registration confirmation letter.
  • Copies of job applications to other hospitals and their replies.

German Medical License (Approbation)

The medical license in Germany is called ‘Approbation’. All ,medical doctors, regardless of their field of work and level of expertise, are required to have this license in order to practice medicine in Germany. The Approbation grants the holder permission to practice medicine with an unrestricted professional permit. In short, to get your Approbation, your completed course/degree must be recognized to be equivalent to the training undergone by your German counterparts. The Approbation is valid throughout the country. It is also valid for a lifetime.

Necessary Steps and Documents required for the Approbation

To make things simple, there are four main requirements for both European/Non-European Doctors to work in Germany:

i. German Language Certification at B2/C1 Level using CEF

(Common European Framework – Standard for measuring Language Skills within Europe)

B2 General German Language Test – TELC/Goethe Test

ii. German Medical Terminology and Clinical Communication Skills

Need to Pass: Fachsprachprüfung – the German term for the professional German Medical Language Exam.

Iii. Application for a license to practice medicine to the Ministry of Health/German state medical council (Ärztekammer).

iv. Clear police record from your home country.

Candidates from both the Non-EU and EU need to undergo this process to receive the German medical license. There is a chance that applications from Non-EU candidates might get their medical diplomas not automatically recognized. In this case, there is no need to worry, all you have to do is pass an additional exam to prove that you possess the necessary medical skills required to work in Germany as a doctor.

The exam is called the medical knowledge exam (‘Kenntnisprüfung’), which is an exam to check your knowledge and skills as a doctor and make sure they’re equivalent to the ones from  medical graduates in Germany. On a positive note, you have the option to repeat this exam if you need to.

Some additional required documents that may be requested for the Approbation:

  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of the birth certificate.
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of the marriage certificate (if applicable).
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of the name change certificate (if required).
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated version of your medical educational certificates.
  • Certified/legalized copy of the original and translated versions of the Certificate of Good Standing (Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung) from any state/national  medical council where you have studied/worked in. This document is valid for a limited period of time.
  • Job offer letter (Zusage).
  • City registration confirmation letter (‘Anmeldung’)
  • Copies of job applications to other hospitals and their replies.

The Road to getting your Approbation (German Medical License)

A ward of a german hospital with numerous doctors in Germany with lab coats
  • Facebook

Now let’s lay down a rough framework to getting your Approbation. These simple steps will help you get your German medical license!

We will divide the frameworks into two categories, one, for Non-EU candidates (candidates who completed their studies outside of the European Union) and EU candidates (candidates who completed their studies within the European Union).

Non-European Union Candidates

A great place to start for Non-European candidates is to get familiar and thorough with the German language. As soon as you complete your medical studies or during them, start studying the language seriously. Once you have a good command of the language, take a language exam (Telc or Goethe) and possess a certification of at least B2 level.

Let’s now begin with actually getting to Germany. You can enter Germany on a student or work seeker Visa and get a Blue Card later. Before arriving in Germany or after (as per your convenience), try applying and giving interviews to get an Observership in a hospital (‘Hospitation’).
 
Hospitation is an observationship in German Hospitals. Preferably, do your hospitation from the same hospital where you want to work after getting your Approbation, but this is far from mandatory. Doing a Hospitation will get you some initial clinical experience in Germany. You will also get acclimated to the hospital and you will get to know how the hospital operates or functions.

Now, during or after completing your Hospitation, complete the German Medical Language Examination, or the so-called Fachsprachprüfung (FSP). This exam will take you one step closer to your license to practice medicine (temporary or permanent license). FSP is a mandatory exam that the applicant has to give to prove that they possess the knowledge of the German language needed to carry out their respective professional activity. As per your convenience, you can also complete the Fachsprachprüfung (FSP) exam before doing your Hospitation as well.

Your Personal Journey to The Approbation

a team of three doctors in Germany with green scrubs who are operating on a patient using top-notch medical equipment
  • Facebook

Now all of this might seem a little complex, and to an extent – it sometimes may be. However, if you prepare correctly beforehand and get assistance in the process, the entire journey can get much more manageable. To break it down in a smooth flow, the following is a step by step path to getting your Approbation in Germany:

  • ‌Get a Hospitation, Berufserlaubnis (temporary license) and a job offer.
  • ‌Apply for the Approbation (German medical license).
  • ‌Get the required documents ready and submit them to get them certified (Gutachten).
  • You have to prove your medical knowledge and degree equivalence if requested to do so.

‌If your degree is considered to be equivalent, then you will get your Approbation‌.  This certification will take up to four months from when you submit all the required documents properly.

OR

If your degree isn’t considered to be equivalent, then you will have to take and pass an exam that proves your level of medical knowledge. This will be a medical knowledge test to ensure you have the knowledge necessary to practice medicine in Germany (Gleichwertigkeitsprüfung or Kenntnisprüfung).

  • ‌ After passing the test, you will get your long-desired Approbation.

* Additional Tip: While submitting your documents, make sure that they are complete, proper and adhere to the German guidelines. Problems with your documents will prolong your application process and will make things more complicated for you. The German officials will only start working on your application after your documents are complete.

From a Financial Point of View

To look at things from a different point of view and make sure that they run smoothly without any financial or technical issues, go ahead and use the following checklist.

  • Do your hospitation.
  • File for a Berufserlaubnis.
  • Then do your job with your temporary license. This will ensure that you will have a steady income while you wait for your permanent license.
  • While working at the temporary job, apply for your Approbation.
  • After receiving your Approbation, you can either continue with your specialization studies, hospital residency or private practice.

European Union Candidates

The procedure is more straightforward and less complicated for European Union graduates.

The good news for you is that you don’t have the compulsion to get Berufserlaubnis (temporary license). You can directly apply for your Approbation after clearing the Fachsprachenprüfung.

The Fachsprachenprüfung, as pointed out earlier, is an exam that tests a doctor’s medical German Terminology knowledge.

Once you get the Approbation, you can start practicing medicine in Germany without any restrictions.

Conclusion

To sum up, the Approbation is the medical license required to practice medicine in Germany. Berufserlaubnis is a temporary professional permit that can be used to practice medicine temporarily and under supervision. A certain list of criteria must be met by the candidate to get their Approbation, which includes, but are not limited to knowledge, language, degree and background checks.

Hopefully, this article has answered some of your questions on getting a German medical license.

Need help with becoming a medical doctor in Germany? First of all – subscribe to our YouTube channel Doctor In Germany, we will be uploading valuable content on a regular basis to help future and current doctors in Germany maximize their potential. Secondly, if you’d like us to go over your particular situation with you and find your best route for becoming a medical doctor in Germany, and of course answer any of your questions, you can book a one-on-one private counseling session. We would love to assist you!

You May Also Like…

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Share This